Home News Tour About Music Media Interact
Wil Maring
Wil's Mailing List

sell music online

Buy Wil's Latest CD


Music : Shady Mix - Songs of the Ranch and Range


Shady Mix: Songs of the Ranch and Range

1996, Snake Head Records | SNCD 82444

Songs of the Ranch

Out of print.




1. New Moon Over My Shoulder

2. I Want to Be a Cowboy's Sweetheart
3. Dance Hall Saturday Night
4. Yellow Moon, Keep on Shinin'
5. San Antonio Rose
6. Wheel Hoss
7. Melody from the Sky
8. Red River Valley
9. Muleskinner Blues
10. Goodbye Old Pal
11. Sueño
12. I'm An Old Cowhand
13. The Streets of Laredo


With "Songs of the Ranch and Range", Shady Mix has put together a tasteful collection of 13 cowboy songs, drawing from the western swing, folk, and bluegrass traditions. Each song, whether an upbeat swing or bluegrass tune, or a melancholy cowboy ballad, shines with the tasteful use of fiddle, mandolin, acoustic, electric, and spanish guitars. Old songs like "New Moon Over My Shoulder", "Melody From the Sky" and " Yellow Moon, Keep On Shining" have been rediscovered, dusted off, and given a brand new, but somehow familiar old sound with Shady Mix's largely acoustic interpretations. Other western standards like "Red River Valley", and "San Antonio Rose", reappear like old friends wearing new suits, with Shady Mix's acoustic arrangements and tight three-part harmonies. Willie Jones treats listeners to his unique yodelling style with the rousing version of "Muleskinner Blues". The old folk song "Streets of Laredo" is reborn in its unique arrangment using piano, Spanish guitar, and Wil Maring's heartfelt vocals. "Songs of the Ranch and Range" will appeal to fans of western and bluegrass music alike.



© Copyright 2017 Wil Maring. Website designed/maintained by Jared Ingersol.